Margaret Fairlie-Kennedy
born 1925
Margaret Fairlie-Kennedy is based in Ithaca, NY, and has enjoyed a long and fruitful affiliation with Cornell University, including a post as composer-in-residence. From the early 1960s, when her piano concerto and her wind quintet premiered, to the present, as she continues to fulfill commissions, her music has consistently received critical acclaim. Recent Fairlie-Kennedy chamber music pieces have included Undertow (1997) for violin and piano, Summer Solstice (1998), and Desert Echoes (1999), which won the performance award in the Maxfield Parrish competition held by the Philadelphia Classical Symphony.
BS Juilliard, MM Converse School of Music; Composer in Residence for Performing Arts, Bennington College, Cornell University. Commissions: Georgia Comm. on Arts; New Arts Gallery, Atlanta; Walker Art Center, Minnesota; Pro-Mozart Society Atlanta; Bennington, Agnes Scott College; Cornell University Theater Arts Dept. Awards: NY Composers Forum; NYWC Competition, 1989; NEH, NEA, MTC, Mary Cary Flagler Trust, Cornell Council for Arts.
 [ Vox Novus logo ]

[ Vox Novus - the new voice for contemporary music ]
- the new voice in contemporary music -